Support for people losing their sight in Scotland

Every day in Scotland, 10 people begin to lose their sight – but only one in six will be offered support and counselling. 

Without support people may lose confidence and find it difficult to cope, leading to social isolation and depression.

Our Vision Support Services

We offer a dedicated and sympathetic support service for those newly diagnosed with an eye condition or sight loss. This support will help people to maintain independence and wellbeing and covers:

  • emotional support at diagnosis
  • support and information for family, friends and carers
  • information on eye conditions and good eye health
  • referrals to statutory and voluntary services
  • advise on what aids and adjustments can make life easier
  • help with retaining a job or retraining for new work
  • advice and help with claiming what financial benefits are available.

Our service also includes signposting to other services available.

Coming to terms with sight loss

Our Looking Forward programme offers help and information at an early stage. It assists those having difficulty coming to terms with their sight loss and includes peer support from people who have already lived with sight loss. 

Practical help with sight and hearing loss

Our Joint Sensory Services are run in partnership with voluntary hearing loss organisations, health boards and local authorities. These services offer more practical help and assistance to people experiencing sight and/or hearing loss.

Where our Vision Support Services operate

Below is a list of the services we currently run in Scotland, which includes contact details.

Edinburgh and the Lothians

Princess Alexandra Eye Pavilion, Edinburgh
Emma Dunlop, 07796 335 877, emma.dunlop@rnib.org.uk
Caroline Beebee, 0131 536 3332, caroline.beebee@rnib.org.uk

Tayside

Ninewells Hospital, Dundee.
Ann-Marie Boyd, 07908 571 837, ann-marie.boyd@rnib.org.uk

Ayrshire and Arran

Ayr Hospital Ayr and Crosshouse Hospital Kilmarnock.
Julie Clark, 07900 160 532, julie.clark2@rnib.org.uk

Glasgow and Lanarkshire

Blessing Nwabude, 07825 196 524, blessing.nwabude@rnib.org.uk
or Shona Spence, 07825 282 544, shona.spence@rnib.org.uk

Scottish Borders

Jeanette Denson, 01896 751 044, jeanette.denson@rnib.org.uk.

Shetland Islands

Hannah Bateson, 01595 745 900, hannah.bateson@rnib.org.uk

 

Related links

Knowledge and research hub

We are a leading source of information on sight loss and the issues affecting blind and partially sighted people. Access our statistics, evidence and reports in our research hub.

Visit the research hub