Term dates and events at RNIB Pears Centre

Here you'll find our school term dates and key events at RNIB Pears Centre for Specialist Learning.

Download our weather conditions letter (Word, 80 KB) which explains our response to keeping the school open during extreme weather conditions.

School term dates 2016-17

Summer term 2016

  • Wednesday 3 August - Break up for summer holiday. 2.30pm finish for students.

Autumn term: Thursday 1 September - Friday 16 December 2016

  • Thursday 1 September – Staff training day (disaggregated)
  • Friday 2 September – Staff training day (disaggregated)
  • Monday 5 September – Students return to school
  • Friday 30 September - Staff training day
  • Friday 21 October – Break up for autumn half term holiday
  • Monday 7 November – Students return to school
  • Friday 16 December – Break up for Christmas holiday. 2.30pm finish for students.

Spring term: Tuesday 3 January – Friday 07 April 2017

  • Tuesday 3 January– Staff training day
  • Wednesday 4 January – Students return to school
  • Friday 17 February – Break up for spring half term holiday
  • Monday 27 February – Students return to school
  • Friday 7 April – Break up for Easter holiday. 2.30pm finish for students.

Summer term: Monday 24 April – Friday 4 August 2017

  • Monday 24 April – Students return to school
  • Monday 1 May – May day bank holiday
  • Friday 26 May – Break up for summer half term holiday
  • Monday 12 June – Students return to school
  • Friday 7 July – Staff training day
  • Friday 4 August – Break up for summer holiday.2.30pm finish for students.
  • 2017-18 academic year will begin on Monday 4 September 2017.

Upcoming events

Christmas events

  • Christmas Fair on Saturday 3 December - 12pm - 3pm

Come and enjoy our merry festive cheer and pick up something special from our local stalls; you can even meet Father Christmas in his grotto! Free entry for all the family and you can meet Father Christmas in his Grotto for only £2 per child.

  • Thursday 15 December 2016 – Christmas production

Book a place on our upcoming training courses:

Our short courses offer you practical opportunities to develop your skills to meet the learning needs of blind and partially sighted children and young people.

Sensory sessions

Early years sensory sessions at RNIB Pears Centre

Our outreach team offer themed sensory sessions for parents and babies and children aged 0 to 5 years with any form of sensory, learning, physical, social and emotional need. Our Early years sensory sessions take place every Tuesday morning and are free to attend. Children don’t need to be enrolled with our nursery or school to attend.

Specialist advice and training

RNIB Periscope is our national outreach service for blind and partially sighted children and young people, including those with additional disabilities and complex needs. We take our specialist expertise to the wider community, providing practical support and educational advice for parents and professionals.

Visit us!

At RNIB Pears Centre, we welcome visits from parents, carers, children and young people, other family members and professionals. Find out how to find us and book your visit today!

Related links

Donate to RNIB Pears Centre now

Your donation can help us to provide wonderful experiences for children and young people with multiple disabilities and complex health needs who are blind or partially sighted, at RNIB Pears Centre for Specialist Learning.

Donate now