Man Booker Prize

Image shows the Man Booker 2017 logoRNIB are very proud to work with the Booker Prize Foundation to ensure blind and partially sighted people have access to the best literature of our times through the Man Booker Prize.

People with sight loss have a limited choice of books in accessible formats. They often have to wait much longer than their sighted peers for books to be made available to them and there are many more that they will never have the chance to read. RNIB is working closely with the Booker Prize Foundation to change this story. 

What is the Man Booker Prize?

First awarded in 1969, the Man Booker Prize is recognised as the leading prize for literary fiction in English. It is open to writers of any nationality for novels written in English and published in the UK. Prior to 2014, only citizens of the Commonwealth, the Republic of Ireland or Zimbabwe were eligible for the prize.

The rules of the prize were changed at the end of 2013 to embrace the English language ‘in all its vigour, its vitality, its versatility and its glory’, opening it up to writers beyond the UK and Commonwealth. Paul Beatty, author of “The Sellout”, made history in 2016 as the first writer from the United States to win the Prize. 

The Booker Prize Foundation is a registered charity responsible for the award of the Man Booker Prize for Fiction, and for the Man Booker International Prize since its inauguration in 2005.

The list of former winners features many of the literary giants of the last four decades: from Iris Murdoch to Salman Rushdie , Ian McEwan to Hilary Mantel.

This year's winner

Many congratulations to George Saunders - the winner of the Man Booker Prize 2017.

The winning book, Lincoln in the Bardo focuses on a single night in the life of Abraham Lincoln: an actual moment in 1862 when the body of his 11-year-old son was laid to rest in a Washington cemetery. Strangely and brilliantly, Saunders activates this graveyard with the spirits of its dead.

Find out more 

kindle book on shelf How RNIB is involved

RNIB has a longstanding relationship with the Booker Prize Foundation to bring some of the year’s very best novels to blind and partially sighted people. We work hard to make sure all of the six shortlisted Man Booker Prize titles are available in accessible formats as close to the shortlist announcement as possible.

The Booker Prize Foundation funds the production of the shortlisted titles in braille, giant print and talking books, which RNIB produces by the date the winner is announced and as close to the shortlist announcement as possible. The accessible versions are then made available to the tens of thousands of blind and partially sighted members of RNIB Library. 

More from previous years

Sign up to our Talking Books service today and get access to over 25,000 Talking Books absolutely free of charge.