Simultaneous Talking Book publications in December

Post date: 
Monday, 5 December 2016

See in the Christmas festivities with a collection of great reads from HarperCollins, released simultaneously from RNIB Library on the very same day of publication throughout this month.

Travel back to Tudor England with Joanna Hickson’s historical tale, indulge in a cosy Christmas read with Sue Moorcroft, or be gripped by the latest thrillers.

Published on 1 December

The Christmas promise by Sue Moorcroft

Step into the world of Ava Bliss this Christmas time, with a story that’s perfect for fans of Katie Fforde and Carole Matthews. When Sam Jermyn enters the life of bespoke hat maker Ava one snowy December evening, she makes a promise. Little does she know it’s one which will change her life...

Available as a Talking Book (TB23648, narrated by Laura Kirman) on DAISY CD, USB stick and digital download via RNIB Overdrive. Download The Christmas promise.

First of the Tudors by Joanna Hickson

Jasper Tudor, son of Queen Catherine and her second husband, Owen Tudor, has grown up far from the intrigue of the royal court. But after he and his brother Edmund are summoned to London, their half-brother, King Henry the Sixth, takes a keen interest in their future. Loyal brother to a fragile king and his domineering queen, Marguerite of Anjou, Jasper must draw on all his guile and courage to preserve their throne - and the Tudor destiny…

Available as a Talking Book (TB23647, narrated by Tom Clegg and Non Haf) on DAISY CD, USB stick and digital download via RNIB Overdrive. Download First of the Tudors.

Published on 6 December

The glass universe by Dava Sobel

New York Times bestselling author Dava Sobel tells a captivating, little-known true story of women in science. Elegantly written and enriched by excerpts from letters, diaries and memoirs, The Glass Universe is the hidden history of a group of remarkable women whose vital contributions to the burgeoning field of astronomy forever changed our understanding of the stars and our place in the universe.

Available as a Talking Book (TB23653, narrated by Laurence Bouvard) on DAISY CD, USB stick and digital download via RNIB Overdrive. Download The Glass Universe.

Published on 15 December

Always in my heart by Freda Lightfoot

The latest in Freda Lightfoot’s Manchester Sagas. Brenda Stuart returns to her late husband’s home devastated by his loss only to find herself accused of bestowing favours upon the Germans. Together with her beloved sister-in-law Prue, the two friends support each other in an attempt to resolve their problems and rebuild their lives.

Available as a Talking Book Book (TB23649, narrated by Rachael Louise Miller) on DAISY CD and USB stick. Download Always in my heart.

Saving Sophie by Sam Carrington

Your daughter is in danger. But can you trust her?

When Karen Finch’s seventeen-year-old daughter Sophie arrives home after a night out, drunk and accompanied by police officers, no one is smiling the morning after. But Sophie remembers nothing about how she got into such a state. Twelve hours later, Sophie’s friend Amy has still not returned home. Then the body of a young woman is found. As she becomes convinced that Sophie is not only involved but also in danger, Karen must confront her own anxieties to stop whoever killed one young girl moving on to another Sophie.

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of “The girl on the train”.

Available as a Talking Book (TB23651, narrated by Antonia Beamish) on DAISY CD and USB. Download Saving Sophie.

The drowning child by Alex Barclay

The heart-stopping new thriller in the Ren Bryce series by Alex Barclay, bestselling author of “Killing ways”.

When Special Agent Ren Bryce is called to Tate, Oregon to investigate the disappearance of twelve-year-old Caleb Veir, she finds a town already in mourning. Two other young boys have died recently, although in very different circumstances. As Ren digs deeper, she discovers that all is not as it seems in the Veir household and that Tate is a small town with a big secret. Can Ren uncover the truth before more children are harmed?

Available as a Talking Book (TB23652, narrated by Penelope Rawlins) on DAISY CD and USB stick. Download The drowning child.