Bayer’s Ophthalmology Honours awards 2017 now open for entry

Post date: 
Thursday, 13 July 2017
Bayer's Ophthalmology Honours awards logo

The starting gun has sounded for nominations to Bayer’s awards programme, the Ophthalmology Honours. 

The awards programme, now in its third year, is designed to recognise and celebrate the outstanding work being carried out by multi-disciplinary teams in ophthalmology throughout the UK.

Supported by RNIB and Visionary, a membership organisation for local sight loss charities, the awards will identify exceptional initiatives that demonstrate clinical excellence and innovation in ophthalmology.

Dr Jackie Napier, Medical Director Ophthalmology at Bayer said: “We are pleased to announce the 2017 opening of the Ophthalmology Honours. This programme is central to the work that we do with the clinical community to transform the lives of people with retinal conditions. There is some exceptional work taking place in ophthalmology across the UK, and we look forward to celebrating and sharing these examples to improve the care provided to patients.”

This year’s Ophthalmology Honours programme includes a new category: Best ophthalmology service improvement. This category aligns with the recent recommendations within the Royal College of Ophthalmologists’ Three Step Plan, to reduce the risk of patients coming to harm due to ineffective services and delayed appointments.

The award categories for 2017 will be:

  • Best ophthalmology team
  • Best patient support or education initiative
  • Best ophthalmology service improvement
  • Outstanding ophthalmology nurse or allied health professional
  • Ophthalmology unsung hero

Award entries are independently judged by experts in ophthalmology care, which includes the steering committee alongside additional representatives to ensure a multi-disciplinary judging panel. The decision making process is wholly independent of Bayer.

Jenny Nosek, steering committee member said: “The Ophthalmology Honours programme is a unique way of recognising and learning from the exceptional work being carried out by both multi-disciplinary teams and individuals on a daily basis. I would urge anyone involved in the field of ophthalmology to enter and contribute towards sharing best practice amongst the clinical community so we can achieve the best outcomes for patients.”

Entries are welcome from anyone working in the field of ophthalmology in the UK. Submissions and nominations are welcome from healthcare professionals, non-clinical staff, charities, patient associations, volunteers and patients. Pharmaceutical company entries will not be accepted.

The deadline for applications is Friday 18 August 2017. Award winners will be announced at the Ophthalmology Honours ceremony, to which all short-listed entrants will be invited, on Wednesday 6 December 2017 at BMA House, London.

Enter now

Further information


Tags NB News