RNIB Vision Pioneer Awards 2017

Vision Pioneer Award winnersThe winners of this year’s RNIB Vision Pioneer Awards were announced at a prestigious ceremony in central London on Tuesday 12 December.  

The awards were set up two years ago to celebrate good practice within the sight loss and eye health sector, and honour the achievements of professionals committed to supporting blind and partially sighted people. 

See the photos from the night

This year’s award winners are:
  • Campaigner of the Year Award: won by Simon Berry, a family optometrist 
  • Innovation Award: won by Adrian Iuga, an ECLO at King’s College Hospital
  • Professional of the Year Award: won by Corinna Swift, an ECLO at the Royal Liverpool and Broadgreen University Hospital Trust
  • Teacher of the Year Award: won by Keith Hipkiss and Mandy Rowles, owners of the Warrior Martial Arts Club
  • Team of the Year Award: won by the Bradford Vision Impairment Team
  • Voice of the Community Award: won by Imran Haq, Junior Doctor in ophthalmology
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: presented to Diane Roworth

Watch highlights of the 2017 Vision Pioneer Awards


Sally Harvey, Chief Executive of RNIB, said: “It’s really important for RNIB to recognise the contribution of the many different organisations and individuals who make such a difference to the day-to-day lives of people affected by and at risk of sight loss. It’s been so inspiring reading about the achievements of our nominees. They are all doing work that is changing people's lives for the better.”

Anil Pitalia, CEO of the event sponsor SpaMedica, said: “We are delighted to support RNIB’s fantastic awards, which recognise the dedication of passionate individuals and teams that play such an important part in improving the lives of many people. We’d like to congratulate all of the winners and the runners-up – they are all winners in our book."