RNIB Vision Pioneer Awards 2017: Judges

Post date: 
Monday, 30 October 2017
Vision Pioneer Award trophy

The judges for this year's awards are:

Campaigner of the Year Award

  • Irenie Ekkeshis, 2016 Founder of the New Citizenship Project and winner of the 2016 Campaigner of the Year Award
  • Lara King, No One Alone Campaign Manager at Blind Veterans UK 
  • Mohammed Mohsan Ali, Volunteer Campaign Co-ordinator at RNIB

Innovation Award

  • Robin Christopherson, Head of Digital Inclusion at AbilityNet
  • Florence Orban, Director of Corporate Development and Innovation at Royal Society of Blind Children and winner of the 2016 Innovation Award
  • Gary Ruben,Professor of Ophthalmology at University College London
  • Professor Sir Peng Tee Khaw, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon at Moorfields Eye Hospital

Professional of the Year Award

  • Lesley-Anne Baxter, Chair of British and Irish Orthoptic Society and Director of Allied Health Professions Federation
  • Cathie Burke, Eye Clinic Liaison Officer Service Manager at RNIB
  • Louise Gow, Specialist Lead for Eye Health at RNIB

Teacher of the Year Award

  • Gwyn McCormack, Director of Positive Eye and qualified teacher of children and young people with vision impairment
  • Steve Rose, Associate of the National Sensory Impairment Partnership and Speech and Language Therapist at Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Suzy McDonald, ‎Children's Habilitation Specialist at ‎Birmingham Education Mobility Service

Team of the Year Award

  • Dr Sonia George, Member of the Neuro-Ophthalmic Visual Impairment Team at Royal Victoria Hospital Belfast Trust – winners of the 2016 Innovation in Ophthalmology Award
  • Tracey Luckett, Director of Nursing and Allied Health Professionals at Moorfields Eye Hospital
  • Professor Stephen Vernon, Consultant Ophthalmic Surgeon and Vice President of the Royal College of Ophthalmologists 

Voice of the Community Award

  • Angus Huntley, RNIB Customer Council member
  • Will Williams, RNIB Customer Council member
  • Dianne Woodford, RNIB Customer Council member

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Simon Labbett, Chair of the Rehabilitation Workers’ Professional Network
  • Janet Marsden, Professor of Ophthalmology and Emergency Care at Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Dr Elizabeth Wilkinson, Ophthalmologist and former President of the ophthalmology section at the Royal Society of Medicine
  • Keith Valentine, CEO of Vision UK and RNIB Trustee