Term dates and events at RNIB Pears Centre

Here you'll find our school term dates and key events at RNIB Pears Centre for Specialist Learning.

Download our weather conditions letter (Word, 80 KB) which explains our response to keeping the school open during extreme weather conditions. 

School term dates 2017-18 

Autumn term: Monday 4 September - Friday 22 December 2017 

  • Monday 4 September - Staff training day 
  • Tuesday 5 September - Students return to school 
  • Friday 6 October - Staff training day 
  • Saturday 21 October- Sunday 5 November - Half term holiday 
  • Monday 6 November - Students return to school 
  • Friday 22 December - Break up for Christmas holiday. 

Spring term: Monday 8 January - Thursday 29 March 2018 

  • Friday 5 January - Staff training day 
  • Monday 8 January - Students return to school 
  • Friday 16 February - Break up for half term holiday 
  • Monday 26 February - Students return to school 
  • Friday 30 March - Break up for Easter holiday. 

Summer term: Monday 16 April - Friday 3 August 2018

  • Monday 16 April - Students return to school 
  • Monday 7 May - May day bank holiday 
  • Friday 25 May - Break up for half term holiday 
  • Monday 13 June - Students return to school 
  • Friday 6 July - Staff training day 
  • Friday 3 August - Break up for summer holiday 

2018-19 academic year will begin on Monday 3 September 2018. 

Upcoming events 

School Christmas production

Our school’s Christmas production of Aladdin has been postponed on Thursday 14 December 2017 due to adverse weather and illness. It will now take place on Thursday 21 December 2017 at 11am.

Specialist advice and training 

RNIB Periscope is our national outreach service for blind and partially sighted children and young people, including those with additional disabilities and complex needs. We take our specialist expertise to the wider community, providing practical support and educational advice for parents and professionals. 

Visit us! 

At RNIB Pears Centre, we welcome visits from parents, carers, children and young people, other family members and professionals. Find out how to find us and book your visit today!

Related links

Donate to RNIB Pears Centre now

Your donation can help us to provide wonderful experiences for children and young people with multiple disabilities and complex health needs who are blind or partially sighted, at RNIB Pears Centre for Specialist Learning.

Donate now