Man Booker Prize 2018: Longlist

Man booker long list titles in a row.
This year’s longlist

This year’s longlist of 13 novels was announced on 27 July 2018, chosen from 171 submissions – the highest number of titles in the prize’s 50 year history - published in the UK and Ireland between 1 October 2017 and 30 September 2018. The 2018 longlist, or Man Booker ‘Dozen’, of 13 novels, is:

  • Belinda Bauer (UK), Snap (Bantam Press)
  • Anna Burns (UK), Milkman (Faber and Faber)
  • Nick Drnaso (USA), Sabrina (Granta Books)
  • Esi Edugyan (Canada), Washington Black (Serpent's Tail)
  • Guy Gunaratne (UK), In Our Mad and Furious City (Tinder Press)
  • Dasiy Johnson (UK), Everything Under (Jonathan Cape)
  • Rachel Kushner (USA), The Mars Room (Jonathan Cape)
  • Sophie Mackintosh (UK), The Water Cure (Hamish Hamilton)
  • Michael Ondaatje (Canada), Warlight (Jonathan Cape)
  • Richard Powers (USA), The Overstory (William Heinemann)
  • Robin Robertson (UK), The Long Take (Picador)
  • Sally Rooney (Ireland), Normal People (Faber and Faber)
  • Donal Ryan (Ireland), From a Low and Quiet Sea (Doubleday Ireland)

What happens next?

The shortlist of six books will be announced on Thursday 20 September at a morning press conference at Man Group, an active investment management firm which sponsors the Man Booker prize.

Each of these will be made available in a range of accessible formats through RNIB Library so that blind and partially sighted people can join in the discussions about their favourites.

The winner of the 2018 Man Booker Prize will be announced on Tuesday 16 October in London’s Guildhall at a black-tie dinner, one of the highlights of the publishing year. The ceremony will be broadcast by the BBC.