The Booker Prize and the Booker Prize Foundation

 Pile of books in a library
RNIB is very proud to work with the Booker Prize Foundation to ensure shortlisted titles in the Booker Prize are available in accessible formats for everyone to enjoy.

What is the Booker Prize?

The  Booker Prize established in 1969 as a literary prize awarded annually for the best original novel written in English and published in the UK. In 2005, The Booker International Prize was created to award writers bi-annually in recognition of a body of work rather than one title.

Former winners of the prize include many of the literary giants of the last five decades, from Iris Murdoch and Salman Rushdie to Ian McEwan and Hilary Mantel


The 2018 winners

Anna Burns was awarded the 2018 Man Booker Prize for her novel Milkman.

Polish author, Olga Tokarczuk, has been name the winner of the 2018 Man Booker International Prize at a ceremony at the Victoria and Albert Museum in London.

Find out more

kindle book on shelf

Our involvement in the Booker Prize

RNIB has worked with the Booker Prize Foundation for over a decade to ensure that some of the year’s best novels are made available to blind and partially sighted people. Book titles are not always automatically produced in alternative reading formats such as audio, large print or braille, which means people with sight loss often have to wait longer to get hold of the latest and most popular books.  

We work with the Booker Prize Foundation to make sure the shortlisted titles in the Booker Prize are produced in all formats as close to the shortlist announcement as possible. The Booker Prize Foundation funds the production of the shortlisted titles in braille, giant print and audio (Talking Books), making the titles available to over 50,000 members of RNIB Library

More you might like